BY MIKE KIRBY-HANNAH Posted November 15, 2017 10:31AM MIKE, MO.
— If you have a firearm in your home, you can be arrested for possessing one.
In Missouri, this includes any gun you own, or the one that you were given, regardless of its condition.
Missouri law allows you to be arrested and fined up to $1,000 for possessing a firearm and $5,000 per violation.
The fine increases if you have an open container.
But, the gun laws also apply to any other type of firearm that you have in your possession, whether it is a firearm that is not yours, a weapon that you receive or is used by someone else.
“This law was put into place in Missouri because of the Columbine shootings in 1999,” said Joe Stacey, spokesperson for the Missouri State Highway Patrol.
“In addition to that, it was determined that guns that could be used for violent crimes like murder and robbery would have to be registered.”
Missouri is one of a number of states that have recently made it harder to own firearms, and has also been under attack by anti-gun lawmakers, who say that these laws are aimed at protecting gun owners from criminals and criminals themselves.
“These laws are designed to prevent the public from having a free-for-all and that means they can be taken down and taken down quickly, and they can have a negative impact on our communities,” Stacey said.
In 2016, the Missouri legislature passed a law that made it illegal to own a gun unless you have permission from a police officer.
The law was a response to a fatal shooting that took place during a church service in May of that year.
Missouri passed another law in 2017, making it a felony to have a gun that was acquired legally in Missouri.
Missouri now allows anyone 21 years old and older to possess a handgun, and anyone 21 and older who is convicted of a felony offense is now also subject to up to a $5.00 fine for each violation.
In addition, anyone convicted of violating a firearm law can be required to attend a firearm safety class and learn how to prevent firearms from falling into the wrong hands.
However, it is still a felony in Missouri to possess or carry a firearm, even if the gun is registered, unless you are 18 or older.
However that may change if the state legislature passes a bill that would allow Missourians to legally own firearms.
This bill, HB 488, would allow for Missourians 21 years of age or older to own or possess a firearm if they are not in a state of suspension.
If you are 21 or older and have a valid Missouri license or ID card, you would be able to carry a gun if you are in a county with a population of 500,000 or more.
The bill would also allow any person who is 21 years or older, who is a military veteran or an individual who is an eligible veteran and who is not incarcerated for any crime or adjudicated mentally incompetent, to possess firearms, but it would require the owner to have permission to do so from a local police department.
The House Judiciary Committee has already passed the bill, and is expected to bring it to the floor for a vote this week.
Missouri state Senator Mike Wessels, who authored the bill in 2017 that made gun possession a felony, said that it would be a good first step toward easing the restrictions on Missourians.
“It is a good step to get people out of trouble and people out here who are on the wrong side of the law,” Wessel said.
“The more people who are prepared to get their hands on a gun, the less they’re going to be going to jail for having a gun.
We have the opportunity to do something positive.”
But even with this legislation, Missouri still faces a number problems.
The state has one of the highest firearm deaths per capita in the country, with over 600 people killed with firearms each year.
The National Rifle Association of Missouri has also opposed efforts to make Missouri a safer place to live.
The NRA’s Executive Vice President, Dan Gross, told FOX News last year that “no one is safe” and that the law will lead to “people dying in their cars, or people dying in the streets.”
And in the fall, it will be the first day of the Missouri Fall Fest, which is one the largest outdoor music festivals in the nation.
Wessel, however, said the legislation would not affect the festival.
“We’ll be able come back in 2021 and have the same amount of festivals as we have this year,” he said.
The Missouri Legislative Council will hold a hearing on HB 438 this Thursday at 10:00 am at the Missouri Capitol, at 6500 N. Main St. in Columbia.